Bridgford House stands inconspicuously amongst its oversized Beach Road neighbours, which is a testament to its leanness and linear arrangement on a deep corner block. It is a great example of Boyd’s earlier work that has proven to be a timeless design that blends elements from other Boyd houses at the time.
Bridgford House, designed by Robin Boyd in 1953, is located adjacent to Half Moon Bay, Black Rock.
The house is in largely original condition, having had a very light-touch renovation.
It was purpose-designed for Bill and Phyllis Bridgford, who were keen sailors. However, the Bridgfords didn’t stay long, whereas subsequent owners, Leo and Linda Suchestow, lived in the house for over 50 years, adapting it to their lifestyle. It is also an inspiration to their daughter, Maggie Edmond, who became one of Melbourne’s most celebrated female architects.
When Maggie sold in 2018, it was purchased by another female architect Catherine Duggan.
The house embraces its Bayside location, reflecting a relaxed holiday mood without dominating the landscape. The Bridgfords were on the water regularly, so they had no need for a view of it. Instead, Boyd gave them a convenient sanctuary, the long walled garden is a secret oasis. The living space is open and expansive with the large window panels accompanied by deep eaves and solar shades, perfectly geared for all seasons.
Developed by the RBF Digital Team, the Bridgford house 3D tour is generously supported by the Alastair Swayn Foundation, Arup and Phoria.
